

EXECUTIVE DECISION DOCUMENT

GENERNA MANAGER APPROVAL:		GENERAL MANAGER ACTION REQ'D:		
DATE: 5/19/2021		BOARD INITIATED ITEM: No		5
Originator/Prepared by: Mag Tatum Dept: District Secretary Hy Tatum Signature/Date: 06/01/2021	General Counsel October (4 2 20 2 []	al Gar	Deduc	BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC BARC

BART Police Citizen Review Board Re-Appointments

PURPOSE:

To request that the Board of Directors ratifies the reappointment of Dwaine Pete Longmire, Les Mensinger, Laura Pagey, David Rizk, and Darren White to the BART Police Citizen Review Board.

DISCUSSION:

The BART Police Citizen Review Board (BPCRB) was established by the BART Board of Directors (Board) to increase the public's visibility of the delivery of BART police services; to provide community participation in the review and establishment of BART Police Department (BPD) policies, procedures, practices and initiatives; and to receive citizen complaints and allegations of misconduct by BPD employees.

In accordance with Chapter 2-02 of the BART Citizen Oversight Model, members of the BPCRB appointed by Directors from Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8, as well as, the BART Police Associations, shall have their terms of service expire on June 30, 2021. Terms of service for currently seated members who have been reappointed shall be for two years.

The Directors from Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 and BART Police Associations have indicated an intention to reappoint each of their current BPCRB appointees and each of those current BPCRB appointees have accepted their reappointment. If ratified by the Board, all reappointed members will be officially installed as members of the BPCRB for a term of two years, beginning on July 1, 2021.

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.

ALTERNATIVES:

Do not ratify the reappointments.

RECOMMENDATION:

Reappoint Dwaine Pete Longmire, Les Mensinger, Laura Pagey, David Rizk, and Darren White to the BART Police Citizen Review Board.

MOTION:

That the BART Board of Directors ratifies the reappointment of the following individuals for a term of two years, beginning on July 1, 2021 and expiring on June 30, 2023:

Dwaine Pete Longmire, District 2

Darren White, District 4

Les Mensinger, District 6

David Rizk, District 8

Laura Pagey, BART Police Associations