# **EXECUTIVE DECISION DOCUMENT**

GENERAL MANAGER APPROVAL: Z JAN 2019 Talt M. Poram		GENERAL MANAGER ACTION REQ'D: Approve and place on Board Meeting agenda		
DATE: 12/24/2018		BOARD INITIATED ITEM: No		
Originator/Prepared by: Patricia Williams Dept: District Secretary Hotricick Williams Signature/Date: 12.28.18	General Counsel	Controller/Treasurer	District Secretary	BARC

## **DECLARATION OF NOVEMBER 6, 2018, ELECTION RESULTS**

## **PURPOSE:**

This proposed action is to declare the results of the general district election held on November 6, 2018, for Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8.

## **DISCUSSION:**

The San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District was scheduled to hold a general district election on November 6, 2018, for the purpose of electing one Director in each of Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8.

The Registrars of Voters of Alameda County and Contra Costa County, and the Department of Elections for the City and County of San Francisco, have certified the election returns for Election Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8.

## **ELECTION RETURNS, NOVEMBER 6, 2018**

District/Candidates Total votes	Percent
District No. 2 - Contra Costa County	
Mark Foley 62,743	63.02
Joel Keller <u>36,815</u>	36.98
99,558	

District No. 4 - Alameda County		
Paul Cummings	43,656	41.11
Robert Raburn	<u>62,526</u>	58.89
	106,182	
District No. 6 - Alameda County		
Liz Ames	46,831	53.77
Anu Natarajan	<u>40,270</u>	46.23
	87,101	
District No. 8 - City and County of San Francisco		
Janice Li	39,997	32.05
Eva I. Chao	24,525	19.65
Melanie Nutter	23,659	18.96
Brian J. Larkin	16,527	13.24
Jonathan Lyens	14,688	11.77
William Walker	5,070	4.06
Invalid Write-In Votes	<u>343</u>	0.27
	124,809	

### FISCAL IMPACT: None.

### ALTERNATIVES: None.

**RECOMMENDATION**: That the Board of Directors adopts the following motion.

#### **MOTION:**

That there be entered into the Minutes of the Board the official canvass of the returns for Election Districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 as taken by the Registrars of Voters of Alameda County and Contra Costa County and the Department of Elections for the City and County of San Francisco for the election of November 6, 2018, the elected candidates having received the highest number of votes cast in their respective election districts based on said official canvass; and that the following candidates are hereby declared elected to the Board of Directors of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District:

Mark Foley, District 2 Robert Raburn, District 4 Elizabeth Ames, District 6 Janice Li, District 8