SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,829th Meeting December 20, 2018

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held December 20, 2018, convening at 9:01 a.m. in the Board Room, 2040 Webster Street, Oakland, California. President Raburn presided; Patricia K. Williams, District Secretary.

Directors present: Directors Allen, Ames, Dufty, Foley, Li, McPartland, Saltzman, Simon, and Raburn.

Absent: None.

President Raburn called for Introduction of Special Guests.

President Raburn introduced and welcomed Director Mark Foley for a ceremonial swearing-in by his father, John Foley.

President Raburn also introduced and welcomed Barbara Silver, Chief Executive Officer of Family Paths, the District's 2018 Holiday Toy Drive recipient. Ms. Silver addressed the Board.

President Raburn noted that there were no items for the Administration Committee; the Engineering and Operations Committee; or the Planning, Public Affairs, Access, and Legislation Committee.

Consent Calendar item brought before the Board was:

1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of December 6, 2018.

Director Allen moved that the Minutes of the Meeting of December 6, 2018, be approved. Director Li seconded the motion, which carried by roll call vote. Ayes – 7: Directors Allen, Dufty, Foley, McPartland, Saltzman, Simon, and Raburn. Noes - 0. Abstain – 2: Directors Ames and Li.

President Raburn called for Public Comment. No comments were received.

President Raburn introduced and welcomed Doug Linney, Director of the East Bay Municipal Utility District, representing Ward 5.

President Raburn called for the General Manager's Report.

General Manager Grace Crunican had no report.

President Raburn called for Board Member Reports, Roll Call for Introductions, and In Memoriam.

Director Simon reported she had attended the annual Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) award ceremony, and the Contra Costa Mayors Conference.

Director Dufty reported he had attended a Safety & Policy meeting with San Francisco Travel.

Director Saltzman reported she had attended the swearing-in of Director Janice Li, and had toured the Hayward Maintenance Complex.

Director McPartland reported he had attended the swearing-in of Director Elizabeth Ames, and a meeting at the 24th Street Mission Station with Director Dufty.

Director Allen reported she had attended the Contra Costa Mayors Conference, a meeting of the Rotary Club of Dougherty Valley / San Ramon, the swearing-in of Director Elizabeth Ames, and the Contra Costa Transportation Authority meeting.

Director Foley reported he had met with Assemblymember Jim Frazier and Tri-Delta Transit about accessibility priorities and thanked BART staff for the new webpage design.

President Raburn reported he had attended the annual COMTO award ceremony, the Annual Moose Feed, BART Police Department's award ceremony, and the Alameda County Mayors Conference.

President Raburn brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Board and opened the floor for nominations for President. Director Simon nominated Director Dufty for President of the Board of Directors. Nominations were closed. Director Simon moved that Director Dufty be elected Board President for 2018. Director Li seconded the motion, which carried by roll call vote. Ayes – 9: Directors Allen, Ames, Dufty, Foley, Li, McPartland, Simon, Saltzman and Raburn. Noes - 0.

President Dufty shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Dufty opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Director Simon nominated Director Saltzman for Vice President of the Board of Directors. Director McPartland nominated Director Allen for Vice President of the Board of Directors. Nominations were closed. Director Simon moved that Director Saltzman be elected Board Vice President for 2018. Director Li seconded the motion, which carried by roll call vote. Ayes – 5: Directors Li, Raburn, Simon, Saltzman, and Dufty. Noes – 4: Directors Allen, Ames, Foley, and McPartland.

Vice President Saltzman shared comments on the upcoming year.

President Dufty thanked Director Raburn for his leadership and presented him with a commemorative plaque.

President Dufty called for Public Comment. No comments were received.

The Meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

Patricia K. Williams District Secretary