SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

2150 Webster Street, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Board of Directors Minutes of the 1,911th Meeting June 23, 2022

A regular meeting of the Board of Directors was held on June 23, 2022, convening at 9:03 a.m., at the El Cerrito del Norte BART Station, 6400 Cutting Blvd., El Cerrito, CA 94530. The meeting was a tour of the El Cerrito del Norte Station. President Saltzman presided; April B. A. Quintanilla, Acting District Secretary.

Directors Present: Directors Allen, Ames, Foley, McPartland, Raburn, Simon, and Saltzman.

Absent: Director Dufty. Vice President Li entered the Meeting later.

President Saltzman gave opening remarks and, under Item 2, Report of the Board President, commented on being an El Cerrito native, one of several cities that she represents; expressed excitement to have everyone at the station in part due to the modernization project that happened just over a year ago at the El Cerrito del Norte Station and commented on being able to see everyone in person.

Consent Calendar item brought before the Board was:

1. Senate Bill 917 (Becker) – Seamless Transit Transformation Act.

Director McPartland moved that the Board of Directors supports Senate Bill 917. Director Raburn seconded the motion, which carried by unanimous roll call vote. Ayes: 7 – Directors Allen, Ames, Foley, McPartland, Raburn, Simon, and Saltzman. Noes: 0. Absent: 2 – Directors Dufty and Li.

Vice President Li entered the Meeting.

President Saltzman called for the General Manger's Report. Robert Powers, General Manager, thanked the public and staff for attending the meeting at the El Cerrito del Norte Station; commented on the Extreme Heat event and thanked the first responders and BART's frontline staff for their quick response; and the Warriors parade, with BART carrying just over 200,000 riders for that event.

The Tour of the El Cerrito del Norte BART Station was conducted.

The following individuals made presentations at stops within the Tour:

Tim Chan, Group Manager, Station Area Planning; Carl Holmes, Assistant General Manager, Design and Construction; Wahid Amiri, Project Manager; Jennifer Easton, Manager of Special Projects, Strategic and Policy Planning; Robert Franklin, Director of Customer Access; Myat San, Group Manager, Manager Electrical and Mechanical Engineering; Priya Mathur, Director of Funding Strategy; Chris Kelly, Chairperson Contra Costa Transportation Authority; and Shannon Dodge, Principal Property Development Officer; Sean Moss, Planning Manager, The City of El Cerrito; Aissia Ashoori, Affordable Housing Program Manager, The City Manager of El Cerrito; and Mark Trainer, Representative from Holliday Development; Robert del Rosario, Director of Service Development and Planning, Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District (AC Transit);

Val Menotti, Chief Planning and Development Officer; and Monica Meagher, Manager of Special Projects, Sustainability.

The following individuals were recognized and/or addressed the Board throughout the Tour:

- John Gioia, District 1 Supervisor, Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors
- Gabe Quinto, Mayor of The City of El Cerrito
- Janet Abelson, Councilmember, The City of El Cerrito
- Paul Fadelli, Councilmember, The City of El Cerrito
- Audrey Momoh, Representative from Senator Nancy Skinner's Office
- Ilaf Esuf, Representative from Assemblymember Buffy Wicks' Office
- Magdalena Olvera, Representative from Congressman Mark Desaulnier's Office
- Joe Voelker, Representative from Senator Dianne Feinstein's Office
- Mark Green, Former Mayor, The City of Union City
- Chris Kelly, Councilmember, City of Hercules and Chair, Contra Costa Transportation Authority Board
- Robert del Rosario, Director of Service Development and Planning, AC Transit
- Chris Peeples, Director, AC Transit District

The following individuals addressed the Board during Public Comment throughout the Tour:

- Daniel Golinski
- Unknown Individual
- Tim Laidman
- Jerry Grace
- Dave Campbell
- Pamela Wagner

Director Simon, Chairperson of the Administration Committee, had no report.

Director Dufty, Chairperson of the Engineering and Operations Committee, had no report.

Director Foley, Chairperson of the Planning, Public Affairs, Access, and Legislation Committee, had no report.

The Meeting adjourned at 11:10 a.m.

April B. A. Quintanilla Acting District Secretary